Kauai's Sebastian Zietz Wins Vans Triple Crown of Surfing at Pipeline

Written by:

Breaking news today across the globe is all about Seabass, the Kauai boy who has been dominating the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing competition on the North Shore of Hawaii, and won enough heats on Day 2 of the Billabong Pipe Masters competition to claim his victory as the point total leader. Sebastian Zietz (HAW), an Oakley rider, beat fellow Hawaiian John John Florence in huge 10+ faces at Pipe today, advancing him on to the next round. Once Adam Melling (AUS) was knocked out, the previous event winner at the Vans World Cup, the second jewel of the Triple Crown, Zietz was too far ahead with his point totals for anyone to conquer him. Although the Billabong Pipe Masters continues awaiting the final day of competition where a World Champion will be crowned, the series winner is celebrating with tons of cash and a new Harley-Davidson motorcycle, with great results going into his first year on the ASP World Championship tour in 2013.



Zietz wins a record $100,000 bonus in recognition of the 30th anniversary of the Series, hydrated by vitaminwater, as well as a $30,000 Harley Davidson and a $10,000 custom Nixon watch. Zietz eliminated ASP WCT surfer Travis Logie (ZAF), 33, to move ahead.


Adam Melling (AUS), 27, was the only surfer able to overtake Zietz, but the Australian fell to Miguel Pupo (BRA), 19, leaving Zietz atop the Vans Triple Crown rankings. The massive victory for Zietz marks his first Vans Triple Crown Title, making him the first Kauai surfer to win the prestigious Hawaiian Series trifecta since the late Andy Irons (HAW).


Zietz put together an incredible run during the ASP Specialty Series, winning the Reef Hawaiian Pro to qualify for the 2013 ASP WCT. He remained consistent at Sunset Beach, finishing 3rd at the Vans World Cup of Surfing and so far has secured a Round 3 berth at the Billabong Pipe Masters.


Sebastian Zietz wins Vans Triple Crown of Surfing. Photo: Surf Channel/Shannon Q

Sebastian Zietz (HAW) is the 2012 Vans Triple Crown of Surfing champion. Photo: Surf Channel/Shannon Q



“I’m super stoked,” Zietz said. “I’m just doing it for everyone in Kauai and everyone in Hawaii. Thanks everyone who comes down and watches us, you’re the reason we have a job. Thanks to Andy (Irons), you’re the one giving me the power. I’m so stoked. I don’t know what to say. It’s just amazing. I’d like to thank everyone who was a part of it. So many people have helped me throughout my life. The list goes on and on, you guys know who you are.”


Zietz went on to deliver the upset of the Billabong Pipe Masters later this morning, eliminating ASP WCT rookie and local standout John John Florence (HAW), 20, in their Round 3 match.


Sebastian Zietz (HAW) scores another barrel at Pipeline to defeat John John Florence (HAW). Photo: Surf Channel/Shannon Q

Sebastian Zietz (HAW) scores another barrel at Pipeline to defeat John John Florence (HAW). Photo: Surf Channel/Shannon Q



“I kind of wasn’t ready for it. I was still celebrating it with thwo minutes left. John my favorite surfer at the time. He missed that first one and I got priority from him. He was looking at that backdoor one, so I knew it must have been good. I saw him fall on that last one and it was lucky for me and unlucky for john. I’m still focused on the contest, this all hasn’t really sunk in yet.”


Watch the Billabong Pipe Masters LIVE via vanstriplecrown.com/billabongpipemasters


For detailed results, log onto www.aspworldtour.com




Sebastian Zietz (HAW)
2011: John John Florence (HAW)
2010: Joel Parkinson (AUS)
2009: Joel Parkinson (AUS)
2008: Joel Parkinson (AUS)
2007: Bede Durbidge (AUS)
2006: Andy Irons (HAW)
2005: Andy Irons (HAW)
2004: Sunny Garcia (HAW)
2003: Andy Irons (HAW)
2002: Andy Irons (HAW)
2001: Myles Padaca (HAW)
2000: Sunny Garcia (HAW)
1999: Sunny Garcia (HAW)
1998: Kelly Slater (USA)
1997: Mike Rommelse (AUS)
1996: Kaipo Jaquias (HAW)
1995: Kelly Slater (USA)
1994: Sunny Garcia (HAW)
1993: Sunny Garcia (HAW)
1992: Sunny Garcia (HAW)
1991: Tom Carroll (AUS)
1990: Derek Ho (HAW)
1989: Gary Elkerton (AUS)
1988: Derek Ho (HAW)
1987: Gary Elkerton (AUS)
1986: Derek Ho (HAW)
1985: Michael Ho (HAW)
1984: Derek Ho (HAW)
1983: Michael Ho (HAW)

(270 Posts)

Shannon Marie Quirk is the Editor-in-Chief of the TheSurfChannel.com, and Director of Digital Media for The Surf Channel and The Ski Channel Television Networks. She is a sports journalist with Bachelors of Arts degrees in English and Spanish Literature from UCLA, trained as a photojournalist by the Los Angeles Times and TransWorld Snowboarding Magazine. A San Francisco native, Shannon is a surfer, competitive snowboarder, and believes that athletes have a responsibility to take care of their playgrounds. FOLLOW: @ShannonReporting


Join The Surf Channel Facebook

Drop In the Surf Channel Newsletter
Keep up with the latest surf news!
Top 10 Lists
bikinis   MALIBU longboard   winter storm hercules, foz do douro  

Top 10 Inexpensive Surf Destinations with Great Waves


Top 10 Universities For Surfers - The Surf Channel


Top 10 Wildest Superstorm Sandy Swell Shots

Most Viewed
Drop In the Surf Channel Newsletter
Keep up with the latest surf news!