Vans Triple Crown of Surfing Countdown, North Shore Oahu Hawai'i

Written by:

Countdown to the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing is here… Held on the Hawaiian Island of Oahu’s North Shore, the prestigious title as Triple Crown Champion is sought after by every all elite competitor. Kauai boy Sebastian Zietz (HAW) will return to defend his 2012 victory, now with experience from his rookie season on the ASP World Tour Surfing circuit.

Still frame by: Surf Channel | Jaredd Bell

All eyes now turn to the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing 2013 hydrated by vitaminwater® – the world’s premier series of professional surfing events that will culminate with a 2-man battle between Kelly Slater (USA) and Mick Fanning (AUS) for the 2013 men’s ASP World Title. From November 12 through December 20, on the North Shore of Oahu, Hawaii, $960,000 in prize money and a number of highly coveted titles will be offered across three ASP sanctioned events, including the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing series champion.

pipeline, triple crown of surfing

Slater will be hunting for the best waves on the North Shore to secure a possible 12th World Title. Photo: Surf Channel | Shannon Quirk

Australia’s Mick Fanning controls the ASP World Championship Tour rankings after nine events. He holds the lead over Kelly Slater (USA), who is the only surfer that can possibly stand between him and the 2013 title. For Slater, it’s a tall order, but one he has filled before: Win the Billabong Pipe Masters and make sure his rival places no higher than 5th. Nothing less will do.

triple crown of surfing, pipeline

Pipeline is unforgiving. Just ask Josh Kerr (AUS). Photo: Surf Channel | Shannon Quirk

pipeline, triple crown of surfing

The judges on the North Shore will have a difficult job to do this year. Photo: Surf Channel | Shannon Quirk

Heat Highlights from the 2012 Billabong Pipemasters featuring Joel Parkinson, Kelly Slater and more:

Triple Crown of surfing, pipeline

Pipemaster Parko won his 2012 World Title at the Billabong Pipe Masters – the final event of the Triple Crown. Photo: Surf Channel | Shannon Quirk
Vans Triple Crown, pipeline

Slater is Pipeline bound and determined for the World Title. Photo: Surf Channel | Shannon Quirk 

triple crown of surfing
Mick Fanning (AUS) can taste the World Title already, but he will have to perform his best at Pipeline. Photo: Surf Channel | Hale Metzger

Fanning is well aware of the stakes, being a two-time world champion who won the world title here in 2007 and 2009. He has signed up for all three events of the Vans Triple Crown and will be at the top of his game for the ultimate showdown at Pipe.

triple crown of surfing

The Reef Hawaiian Pro will kick off the three events in Haleiwa on November 12th. Photo: Surf Channel | Hale Metzger

Remember this layback from Dane Reynolds (USA) during the 2012 Reef Hawaiian Pro? Watch it again:

Watch it again… and again…

triple crown of surfing

John John Florence (HAW) airborne during the 2012 Reef Hawaiian Pro, the first event. Photo: Surf Channel | Hale Metzger

triple crown of surfing

Gabriel Medina (BRA) landed this one on last year’s Reef Hawaiian Pro final day. Photo: Surf Channel | Hale Metzger

triple crown of surfing

The 2012 Reef Hawaiian Pro finalists to watch out for at Haleiwa – John John Florence (HAW), Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Fred Patacchia (HAW) and Alejo Muniz (BRA). Photo: Surf Channel | Hale Metzger

The Vans Triple Crown is a tradition in its own right that has been upheld for the past 30 years. It is awarded to the most consistent performer across all three of the events of the series and carries a $10,000 bonus.

vans triple crown of surfing 2013

Adam Melling (AUS) holding his trophy after winning the second event, the 2012 Vans World Cup. Photo: The Surf Channel | Hale Metzger

Incredibly, Fanning has never won any of the individual events of the series, nor the Vans Triple Crown title. A feature of every great surfer’s accomplishments through history, there’s no doubt he has his eyes on it. Expect to see his major competition for the Triple Crown title come in the form of Hawaii’s own John John Florence and Sebastian Zietz. They will be applying the pressure from the get-go, when competition begins at Haleiwa’s Reef Hawaiian Pro, November 12.

triple crown of surfing

Sebastian Zietz won the first event at Haleiwa in 2012, at the Reef Hawaiian Pro. Photo: Surf Channel | Hale Metzger

The Hawaiian Airlines AirShow also returns again this year, offering 250,000 Hawaiian Airlines miles to the surfer who executes the most spectacular aerial maneuver of the series. Florence claimed the miles last year and is expected to be a front-runner again this winter.

Each of the three events of the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing has a two-week holding period within which to run, requiring just 3-4 days of excellent surf to be completed.

To stay on Oahu’s North Shore and witness the action in person, special rates are available at Turtle Bay Resort VIA THIS LINK.

Turtle Bay Resort firing! Photo: Surf Channel/ Shannon Q

Surrounded by the best waves and surfers in the world, it’s no wonder staying at the Turtle Bay Resort was voted The Surf Channel’s #1 must-have. Photo: Surf Channel/ Shannon Quirk



Nov. 12-23, Haleiwa Ali’i Beach

ASP Prime Prize Purse: $250,000

Defending Champion: Sebastian Zietz (Hawaii)



Nov. 24-Dec. 6, Sunset Beach

ASP Prime Prize Purse: $250,000

Defending Champion: Adam Melling (Australia)



Dec. 8-20, Banzai Pipeline – WORLD TITLE DECIDER

ASP World Championship Tour Prize Purse: $450,000

Defending Champion: Joel Parkinson (Australia)


DEFENDING ASP WORLD CHAMPION: Joel Parkinson (Australia)




Vans has a contest going on to kick things off. You could win a trip to the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing and a ton of gear. Must be a US resident, ages 18+. CLICK TO ENTER.

(1400 Posts)

The Surf Channel is an original, free, ad supported television network delivered on cable, satellite and IPTV services, web and wireless. The Video On Demand television network will be found on cable, satellite, telco and digital. Distribution partners include: Comcast, Cox Communications, DirecTV, Dish Network, We aim to provide 24-hours a day surf television, 365-days a year straight to the living room of cable and satellite subscribers, featuring nothing but surf! How long has the industry been waiting to hear those words?


Join The Surf Channel Facebook

Top 10
The Surf Channel Television Network Top 10 Summer Bikinis 2015 Local Style Ireland and Indonesia MALIBU longboard

Top 10 Universities For Surfers - The Surf Channel

Most Viewed