2012 Cabreiroa Pantin Classic Pro Preview

Written by:

ASP competitors have been traveling all over Europe for the past few weeks for the SATA Airlines Azores Pro and San Miguel Pro Zarautz events. Next, the Cabreiroa Pantin Classic Pro will start tomorrow at Playa de Pantin, Galicia in Spain. This year’s event will be in celebration of their 25th Anniversary with over 150 surfers attending the event.

Justine Dupont (FRA) will return for the Cabreiroa Pantin Classic Pro 2012 starting in heat #12. Photo: ASP Masurel AquaShot

The crowd will build at Playa de Pantin throughout the week to watch the fierce competition. 2011 Photo: ASP/Masurel

“Pantin is a classic event every year,” Rob Gunning, ASP Europe’s Tour Manager stated.  “It’s always a great experience for everyone traveling to Galicia, the Pantin area is a really beautiful place and waves often get excellent!  This year’s European Title race has been exciting so far and I’m looking forward to seeing it get shaken up again in Pantin this week.”

Santiago Muniz (ARG) shows his potential to own the Cabreiroa Pantin Classic Pro and is scheduled to compete this week. Photo: ASP/ Masurel

Making our way to the end of the international calendar, the Cabreiroa Pantin Classic Pro serves as the third to last event and a vital aspect for the ASP 6-Star Women’s competitors who are trying to qualify for the elite ASP Women’s World Championship Tour in 2013.  The pressure is on, so expect the surfing to be intense as all aspiring professional surfers battle for a spot on next year’s World Championship Tour.

Sofia Mulanovich (PER) will return this year and begin the competition in heat #4. Photo: ASP/AquaShot

“The girls are always enthusiastic about our European leg of events,” Gunning said.  “This year, we’ll have six World Championship Tour Surfers joining us in Pantin and a handful of young up-and-comers looking for their first big result, another tour victory, or the amount of points they require to qualify.  It’s always an exciting end of the season in Europe which decides who we’ll see join the ASP Top 17 in 2013.”  
With the anniversary festivities comes a busy entertainment program with surf lessons, beach rugby, football, volleyball, art exhibitions and a special musical evening to celebrate one of the oldest surfing competitions in Europe.  

Leonardo Neves (BRA) floats through his heat last year at the Cabreiroa Pantin Classic Pro 2011. Photo: ASP/Masurel

“It is an honor to organize the 25th edition of the Pantin Classic, especially considering the number of events that have suffered from the crisis,”  Marcos Rodriguez, co-organizer of the event said.  “If it wasn’t for the support we are getting from our sponsors, we could never celebrate the 25th Cabreiroa Pantin Classic Pro… I’ll tell you a little secret, we are preparing a big party at Reina Sofia Park in Ferrol and singer Vega Cordoba will perform in a free concert on Saturday, after the women’s final.” 
The competition is scheduled from September 12-16, 2012 in Playa de Pantin, Galicia, Spain.  
Wish you were there for all of the action?  Watch it live here!    Keep checking back on TheSurfChannel.com for daily updates!
Video from last years action, and Argentine Santiago Muniz’s big win at 2011 Cabreiroa Pantin Classic Pro:

Men’s Round of 112 Matchups:  Cabreiroa Pantin Classic Pro 2012
Heat 1:   Jesus Chacon (VEN), Armando Colucci (ITA), Adrian Ortiz (VEN), Jhon Junior (PRT)
Heat 2:  Cheyne Willis (HAW), Alex Kamkoff (USA), Pablo Monteiro (ESP), Daniel Aznar Gonzalez (ESP)
Heat 3:  Roland Lefeuvre (FRA), Pedro Correia (PRT), Luca Guichard (NOR), Roberto Alvarez Junquera (ESP)
Heat 4:  Denny Mendoza (VEN), Timothy Latte (SWE), Yoackim Guichard (NOR), Greg Urata (USA)
Heat 5:  Freddie Meadows (SWE), Rainel Bravo (VEN), Julio Nurse (VEN), David Diaz (VEN)
Heat 6:  Luis Eyre (BGR), Alexander El Naib (DEU), Heremoana Luciani (PYF), Noah Erickson (USA)
Heat 7:  Ronald Reyes (VEN), Tereva David (PYF), Dane Hall (GBR), Christoffer Hartkopp (DNK)
Heat 8:  Colin Saunders (VEN), Borja Agote (EUK), Roy Van Eijk (NLD), Hugo Cornec (REU)
Women’s Round of 48 Matchups
Heat 1:  Jacqueline Silva (BRA), Ornella Pellizzari (ARG), Jordan Hundley (USA), Bianca Valenti (USA)
Heat 2:  Erika Franco (ESP), Suelen Naraisa (BRA), Skye Burgess (AUS)
Heat 3:  Philippa Anderson (AUS), Nikki Van Dijk (AUS), Yolanda Aneiros (ESP), Tanika Hoffman (ZAF)
Heat 4:  Sofia Mulanovich (PER), Anne Cecile Le Tallec (FRA), Naomi Stevic (AUS), Joanne Dennison (GBR)
Heat 5:  Sage Erickson (USA), Brittani Nicholl (AUS), Dominic Barona (ECU), Alisha Gonsalves (USA)
Heat 6:  Sarah Baum (ZAF), Alessa Quizon (HAW), Lori Kelly (AUS)
Heat 7:  Alana Blanchard (HAW), Felicity Palmateer (AUS), Joana Rocha (PRT), Estitxu Estremo (ESP)
Heat 8:  Pauline Ado (FRA), Anali Gomez (PER), Nao Omura (JPN), Laura Rishworth (NZL)
Heat 9:  Rebecca Woods (AUS), Freya Prumm (AUS), Maud Le Car (FRA), Wes Noble (GBR)
Heat 10:  Alizee Arnaud (FRA), Joanne Defay (FRA), Ainara Aymat (EUK), Audrey Styman-Lane (AUS)
Heat 11:  Bianca Buitendag (ZAF), Nage Melamed (HAW), Mikaela Greene (AUS), Lucia Martino (ESP)
Heat 12:  Justine Dupont (FRA), Georgia Fish (AUS), Nicola Atherton (AUS), Keshia Seelow Eyre (PRT) 

(682 Posts)

As a college graduate from California State University, Long Beach, Emily enters the world with a Bachelor's Degree in Recreation and Leisure Studies and a passion for surfing, cultural diversity and serving others.


Join The Surf Channel Facebook

Top 10
The Surf Channel Television Network Top 10 Summer Bikinis 2015 Local Style Ireland and Indonesia MALIBU longboard

Top 10 Universities For Surfers - The Surf Channel

Most Viewed